Countdown to Provincials (May 7 & 8, 2025):288 days

Skills Canada Alberta awards ‘Sturdy 30’ to dedicated teachers across the province

Alberta — May 16, 2022 – In celebration of Skills Canada Alberta’s 30 year long relationship with Alberta’s teachers and instructors, we are celebrating some of the Skills Champions among our community – our Sturdy 30. This award is to recognize teachers and instructors who go above and beyond to prepare their students for the world of work that awaits them in trade and technology areas. We are so proud to announce our Sturdy 30 – the teachers and instructors who go the extra mile to have a lasting impact on their students.

“Alberta’s teachers and instructors are crucial to the success of our future work force. They provide the expertise and support students need to pursue their goals. For 30 years Skills Canada Alberta has been fortunate to work with the most passionate and dedicated teachers in the province, and we look forward to continuing to work collaboratively in providing platforms for exploration and skill development to Alberta’s youth.”

  • Abhijit Guha – SAIT
  • Brendan McDermott – Ernest Manning High School
  • Cecile Bukmeier – NAIT
  • Chantel Smith – NAIT
  • Chris McCloskey – Red Deer Polytechnic
  • Coralee Dahl – CT Centre
  • Cyril Reschny – Foothills Composite High School
  • Dave Heins – Lethbridge College
  • Dave Stewart – Grande Prairie Composite High School
  • Don Yusep – Lloydminster Comprehensive High School (now retired)
  • Erin Malec – Sherwood Heights Junior High
  • Gerald Chung – Old Scona Academic
  • Harold Bergmann – SAIT
  • Ivan Mazuryk – Notre Dame High School
  • Jane Renyk – Henry Wise Wood School
  • Jarrod Leach – Charles Spencer High School
  • Jason Budd – CT Centre
  • Jason St. Laurent – NAIT
  • Jeff Lerouge – Ecole Secondaire Notre Dame
  • Joe Wilson – Joane Cardinal Schubert High School
  • Justin Graham – Brooks Composite High School
  • Kevin Mackenzie – RF Staples Secondary School
  • Lisa Shankowski – Nelson Heights Middle School
  • Stefanie Goldsmith – Lord Beaverbrook High School
  • Steve Woodard – Bev Facey High School
  • Susannah Killey – St. Oscar Romero Catholic High School
  • Sylvia Hayward – Central Memorial High School
  • Tom MacIsaac – Father Mercredi High School
  • Tracey Millar – Ecole Secondaire Notre Dame
  • Zack Hartle – SAIT